Reasons why I’m happy I finally got my license

Yep, that’s right – since my last post in February, I actually got on the road – a lot – and GOT MY LICENSE OMG.  I’ve had it for a month and a half, now – and now driving feels a lot more natural.  It’s amazing, being able to go wherever I want (within reason; highway driving is slightly intimidating right now as there’s crazy amounts of construction on IN 37/I 69 right now) and not have to worry quite so much about all the silly things I had to worry about while scootering, including…

  • what the weather will be like
  • if there’s snow on the roads
  • if Mia will actually be able to make it up a hill
  • what the speed limit of a specific road is and if I can actually hit the speed limit on Mia without angering other drivers in the process

Sure, I’m still angering other drivers on the road, but only on the twisty-turny roads out to Lake Lemon, as I’m apparently the only person who listens to those suggested speed signs for those corners.  I don’t want to take those suckers too fast and fall off the road/hit another car/hit some wildlife (although I’ve seen more deer in Bloomington while driving than I have out in the country!).

But yes, I finally have my license. And I’m still really enjoying driving, for many reasons…

  • RADIO.  I listen to the radio pretty much wherever I go.  Strangely enough, it helps me focus.
  • Windshield wipers are fantastic (although I need to get used to them, sometimes they get a little distracting while I’m driving – but I’ll take that over having to wipe off a helmet visor constantly).
  • Sitting in traffic isn’t as horrible in a car as it is on a scooter.  On the scooter, I’d have to be super aware of all the other cars around me because nobody pays attention to anything that’s not on four wheels and taking up an entire lane, plus I’d be stuck standing still in baking heat/pouring rain/freezing cold.  Lapis keeps me cozy, comfy, and dry.
  • PEOPLE ACTUALLY PAY ATTENTION TO ME ON THE ROAD.  I don’t have to drive like I’m invisible!  Although I do keep super aware of everything, and try and keep my quick reflexes in good shape, because I know all my super senses from scooting will keep me safe in a car.
  • Related to the last point: I have a protective bubble now!  When I rode Mia to work for the last time a few weeks ago, after taking Lapis to work for about a month, I felt weirdly exposed.  Oh, I still loved being on two wheels, but I realized just how much safer it is to be in a car.
  • I can actually carry stuff with me, more than what fits in my scooter trunk/backpack.  Need to bring my work laptop home, but don’t have my backpack?  I can put it in the backseat and it’ll be fine.  I couldn’t do that on the scooter – mostly because my laptop is ginormous.

I’m super happy I have my license.  Sure, it took me seventeen years, but I did it.

20170630_085536_HDR

Lappy at work on the first day I was able to drive her in, next to her buddy Gipsy Danger (my friend Morgan’s car).

Mia’s enjoying her retirement from being a heavy-duty commuting scooter – she’s got a new home with my brother-in-law, and he’s enjoying riding as much as I do.  Which is awesome.

IMG_20170723_134323

Damion and Mia!

Leave a comment